.. Information to complement the GP consultation.

General Information

Travel Information

Division Information

Video index

Friendly Print preview

treatment - 2 page pdf

(educational arm of the Gastroenterological Society of Australia)
Website: www.gesa.org.au ... Copies reviewed January 2006

Some facts about...
An information leaflet for patients and interested members of the general public.

The following list is intended as a general guide only. If you have coeliac disease you are encouraged to consult with a dietitian for individual dietary planning and information about reading food labels.

Note: In this table, "check" indicates that some brands contain gluten, others are gluten-free. Ingredient lists of all food products should be checked.

Foods to Avoid Foods to Include
Flour Wheat flour, rye flour, barley flour, wheaten cornflour, triticale flour and oat flour** Rice flour, pure maize cornflour, cornmeal/polenta, soya flour, potato flour, arrowroot, buckwheat, sorghum, millet, sago, tapioca, lentil flour, baby rice cereal, amaranth, lupin
Bread All bread including wheat, rye and sourdough bread, biscuits, pastries, buns, muffins, pikelets, crumpets, croissants, breadcrumbs (unless labelled gluten-free) Rice cakes, corn cakes, some rice crackers (check); gluten-free bread, biscuits, pastries, rolls, breadcrumbs, cakes, and desserts made from allowed flours; gluten-free bread, biscuit, cake mixes.
Cereals Breakfast cereals containing wheat, oats**, semolina, barley, rye, malt extract, wheatbran, oatbran** Rice, corn and soy breakfast cereals (check), gluten-free muesli, homemade muesli using allowed ingredients
Pasta and grains Wheaten noodles, pasta, spaghetti, vermicelli & instant pasta meals. Triticale, couscous, bulgur, semolina Rice, corn, cornmeal, tapioca, buckwheat and gluten-free pastas, rice noodles, rice vermicelli, Rice, buckwheat, polenta
Fruit Commercial thickened fruit pie filling Fresh, frozen, canned or dried fruit, fruit juices
Vegetables Canned or frozen vegetables in sauce, commercially prepared vegetable and potato salad (unless dressing checked). Fresh, frozen, dehydrated, or canned vegetables without sauces, vegetable juices.
Meat, Fish & Poultry Foods prepared or thickened with flour, batter or crumbs, sausages, most processed meats and fish, corned beef, meat pies, frozen dinners Fresh, smoked, cured, frozen without sauces, crumbs or batters. Canned meat or fish without sauce or cereal. Ham off the bone (check), Bacon, gluten-free sausages.

Gluten-free breads, biscuits, pastas, cereals and other foods are available from supermarkets and health food stores.
** Oats: At the time of writing, oats are not recommended, but are the subject of further research. Consult your dietitian.

Foods to Avoid Foods to Include
Dairy Products Cheese mixtures, pastes, and spreads (unless checked), Malted milks, Icecream with cone or crumbs, Soy drinks containing malt (check) Block, processed, cream, cottage or ricotta cheese. Fresh, UHT, evaporated, powdered or condensed milk, Yoghurt (check), buttermilk, fresh or canned cream, Plain or flavoured icecream (check)
Legumes and nuts Processed varieties of legumes if thickened (unless checked), textured vegetable protein products Dried or fresh beans, nuts and seeds, Gluten-free canned baked beans, canned beans or legumes (check)
Takeaway Food Hamburgers, pizza, souvlaki, sausages, battered food (e.g. fried fish), crumbed food (e.g. crumbed chicken), stuffed roast chickens Steamed rice, grilled fish (check no flour), chicken (no stuffing), steak, Asian dishes without flour or soy sauce, steamed vegetables, baked potato, some chips (check)
Snacks Packet savoury snacks, many sweets and filled chocolates, licorice, many frozen desserts, flavoured potato crisps and corn chips (check) Plain chocolate, plain popcorn, jelly, plain potato crisps (check), plain corn chips, plain rice crackers, yoghurt
Beverages Cereal-based coffee substitutes, malted cocoa beverages (e.g. Milo®, Ovaltine®, Aktavite®), Barley waters, milk flavourings (unless checked), Beer, ale, stout and lager, Alcoholic soft drinks containing malt extract Water, tea, coffee, cocoa, milk, Cordials, soft drinks, soda water, mineral water, Fruit and vegetable juices. Wine (including sparkling and fortified wines), most spirits and liqueurs, cider
Miscellaneous Malt vinegar, soy sauce containing wheat, mixed seasonings, Yeast extract spreads (e.g. Vegemite®, Marmite®, Promite®), sauces, pickles, relish, chutney, thickened salad dressings, stock cubes, custard powder containing wheat starch, baking powders containing flour, communion wafers Tomato sauce, gluten-free soy sauce, most vinegars, Sugar, honey, golden syrup, jam, peanut butter, Salad dressings not thickened, gluten-free stock cubes, Gelatine, gluten-free baking powder and custard powder, Herbs, spices, salt, pepper.

Some foods are marked "gluten-free" on the package.


Back to Gastroenterology index